Daily practices

Ask any life coach and they’ll tell you that having a daily (usually morning) routine is the best way to stay focused and balanced. Ask me, and I’ll tell you that this is one of the things I struggle with the most. I don’t know about you all, but it really gets to me, too. I know it’s a good thing to do, and I know I’ll be better off for having done it, but I just can’t get myself to establish any kind of routine – especially in the morning. I’ll get one going, and I’ll be gaining a bunch of momentum, then something happens and I’m thrown off schedule and it takes me two weeks to get back to some semblance of routine. I’m exhausted just relaying to you how difficult this seems to be for me.

I decided recently that I was creating so much resistance by forcing myself to create a morning routine. My evenings are generally much more consistent since my “day job” is actually a night job. I often get home around 11 p.m., and rarely do I get to sleep before 1 a.m. Since I have felt a strong desire to cultivate a daily Reiki practice, I chose for my new routine to give myself a Reiki self-treatment before I sleep. Every. Day.

I recently reached my 30-day milestone. It was kind of a big deal. I managed to give myself Reiki every single day for 30 consecutive days. I’d like to say that the only thing I did was switch my expectation from doing it every morning to doing it every evening. Although that helped tremendously, the truth is, it was more than that. First, I had a much stronger drive to do the Reiki. It is much more appealing to me than just regular old meditation. (To me, it’s a snoozefest, but I absolutely respect and honor those who have a regular old meditation practice!) Second, I had to identify the cog in the wheel – timing. “Sure,” I thought, “if I do it in the morning, it sets me up to start my day calm and centered.” But in reality, I think I need the Reiki more at night. Especially on work nights, when I come home from a busy veterinary hospital, seeing patients during hours when other clinics aren’t open, dealing with clients who don’t have the money to go to an actual emergency clinic. We typically see sicker animals, poorer clients, and the staff is stretched a little thinner than other shifts. So it is as I finish that part of my day when I need the recharge, the detox, the centering, and the calm.

Of course, my Reiki work schedule also sets me up to start my days with Reiki. So I’m kind of in a Reiki sandwich. But since appointments aren’t consistent, I don’t count that as a daily practice. Yet! One day I hope to have Reiki be my whole day. It makes me warm inside just imagining it. 😀

What’s your daily practice? What keeps your battery charged? When do you execute your routine? I’d love to hear from you, so comment below!

With much love, light, and gratitude,

Jen

 

About jencares

I was called to Reiki in 2012. Since I was first attuned, I have sought out ways to share Reiki with as many people as I can. While Reiki is a fabulous practice for men and women of all ages, I am particularly interested in helping women in their 30s and 40s utilize Reiki to solidify their sense of self and reach their goals and dreams.
This entry was posted in Reiki me some inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

